Lisa Marie Presley Has A New Reason To Worry About Elvis And Priscilla Presley's Secrets -- Will Public Opinion Of The Late King Of Rock ‘N Roll Change?

Lisa Marie Presley Has A New Reason To Worry About Elvis And Priscilla Presley's Secrets -- Will Public Opinion Of The Late King Of Rock ‘N Roll Change?
Rolling Stone

Despite his undoubted popularity, Elvis Presley has been a controversial figure throughout his life in various ways. With Baz Luhrmann’s movie about him set to come out, his daughter is worried.

And even after his death, his reputation continues to be a dividing factor among people who have heard of him.

While he still has a large cult following, many people have been voicing their criticism of Elvis in recent years for various reasons, and it looks like this trend is not going to die down anytime soon -- especially in the wake of the #MeToo movement that has affected public discourse in the recent years.

If anything, people might easily latch on to a new punching bag if they see the opportunity.

Lisa Marie Presley has recently expressed concerns on that topic, noting that certain parts of the life of Elvis can be seen as highly controversial in today’s society, and she was worried about how people might see him so many years after the fact.

A new film that goes through the life of the iconic musician seems to be paying particular attention to the early stages of his relationship with ex-wife Priscilla Presley when she was still underage.

While this was less of a problem back then, it has become a much more sensitive subject today, and many seem to share the worries of Lisa Marie in this context.

Via Radar Online , a source told A.J. Benja’s Fame, about Luhrmann’s movie: “With today’s climate, Lisa Marie is concerned Luhrmann will exploit that relationship, and there’ll be a huge backlash against her dad.”

The source claimed that Priscilla had been very opened with Luhrmann regarding her romance with Elvis.

However, for some unknown reason, Priscilla has not shared the details with Lisa Marie, who will have to wait for the film to come out to find out what secrets her mother revealed to the world.

There are already signs of people voicing their disapproval of the late King of Rock ‘n Roll as a cultural icon on the Internet.

While they are still relatively a small niche and limited, fans might start seeing even more of those opinions shortly if the film takes off.

Should Elvis be judged in light of the #MeToo movement?

Advertisement

You may also like

LEAVE A REPLY

  • Orasio
    Orasio Nov 17, 2019 9:40 AM PST

    Let the king Rest In Peace , he gave a generation a voice , and now , we want to silence that “voice”..

  • Patricia A Bruemmer
    Patricia A Bruemmer Nov 23, 2019 11:06 AM PST

    I just sat here and read all these comments. I kinda wonder how old the people are that are making such harsh judgements on Elvis and Priscilla. I grew up in the 60's and 70's and I remember going to a high school graduation on a Thursday night..and going to a wedding on Saturday of people that had just graduated. One friend got married on a Saturday and had to come back from her honeymoon for her high school graduation ceremony. What does this have to do with Elvis and Priscilla? Just showing that couples in their mid-teens DID get married during the 50's and 60's. No big deal. The entire world has known that Elvis was older than Cilla and that they got married after residing in the same house for several years...Nothing in the up-coming movie will change that. Did they have sex before they got married?? Again...really..Who didn't?? And what woman wouldn't have jumped in the sack with Elvis Presley? Bottom line here is...if it bothers you..don't watch the film or buy a book or even continue to follow Elvis and/or Priscilla and/or Lisa. If it is Lisa that is making all the waves....then shame on her. She hasn't exactly lived the perfect life. Think of who she has married....certainly not anyone that equaled her Dad.

  • Darlene
    Darlene Nov 17, 2019 10:28 AM PST

    Enough with the me too movement . We get it now let’s move on They got concert from Her Dad

  • David Gibbs
    David Gibbs Nov 16, 2019 9:33 AM PST

    This potential attack on Elvis is unfounded.Priscilla has stood by Elvis all her life from their first meeting even after the divorce.If this is all they have got to work with on the internet it must be a slack period.

  • Tens McKinsey
    Tens McKinsey Nov 17, 2019 10:48 AM PST

    The thing is we have a generation or a big portion of a generation or so which are not in any way tuned into Elvis. And we have a big culture variety for awhile now and a lot of those view things differently. But people need to just acknowledge things were different way back when. In fact a lot of eras have a lot of differences. And it's just the way it was. It's wrong to judge any one anyway but it's really wrong to go back and judge things in the past based on today's views. In 1945 my oldest sister got married. She was 14. He was like 23 and had been in WWII. In 1954 another sister of mine married at age 14. He was like 19. Another sister of mine got married in 1951 at 16. It appears they all had already been "fooling" around. It's just like the day of the "casting couch" and women wanting to become actresses. No matter what anyone thinks, women also used their assets to get what they wanted. And there were parties where women went to be a part of the group or whatever and things happened sexually but they knew and were ok with it just so long as they could be somehow linked to that famous person. 80 year old men maybe go back to that time because of their mind and way back when they were younger a woman might get looked up and down or whistled at or spoken to in a manner that is not appropriate nowadays. It wasn't uncommon back then for women to dress in a manner or act or say something on purpose to get that "attention". Back in the late 60's and through mid 70's if a guy was acting all idiot on me I might just punch him in the nose but I wouldn't have like filed charges on him for looking or making some suggestive comment. If he tried to grab or touch he might come up with a broken hand. My point is things were different in a lot of areas in the past. And no one should condemn or pass judgement. Just understand times were different.

  • Kim Brown
    Kim Brown Nov 16, 2019 2:22 PM PST

    Priscilla revealed all in her book Elvis and Me which anyone can read. I have for years wondered why Elvis was never condemned for his behavior and how Priscilla’s parents let her live w him at such a young age 13 I think but I forget exactly. Anyway....it is not a new story and Priscilla revealed it all in the book.

  • Darrel Eldridge
    Darrel Eldridge Nov 17, 2019 1:05 PM PST

    Elvis Presley left his mark on the world being the generous giving man he was. The only reason why ANYBODY attacks a superstar is because the can make a whopping profit off of the tabloid sales it generates. No matter who the person is that is under scrutiny. It's all about the money. it always will be. People get rich off of people's short-comings or faults. But always remember the great things.

  • Jocelyne Millien
    Jocelyne Millien Nov 16, 2019 4:03 PM PST

    If indeed, he has to be judged, he is no different than anyone else.

    • April Sutton
      April Sutton Nov 16, 2019 9:25 PM PST

      Amen a boycott won't be good for Tom Hanks because nobody will ever want to see his movies again.

  • Cheryl (Cher) Adams
    Cheryl (Cher) Adams Nov 17, 2019 1:33 PM PST

    Leave his memory alone. He made my teenage years bearable. I still have an Elvis room in my home. I absolutely adore him. I despise when they tear him down. He is “dead “for God’s sake. I am 75 years old and my opinion will never change. Off my soapbox and leaving the building!

  • AlyB
    AlyB Nov 16, 2019 8:15 PM PST

    In the 42 years since and 42 years prior to Elvis' death, there was no Me Too Movement. No one has a right to judge him. The times and the people were different back then. It's in the past and no amount of judgement or anything else will ever change it. Why bring it up? It says a lot about people who accuse and judge someone who's deceased and can't respond. To those people: Get a life, grow some cahonies and go after live people, in real time, that know what the #MeTooMovement is. Elvis will always be the King. And leave the music alone too.

    • Cheryl
      Cheryl Nov 17, 2019 2:53 PM PST

      I love Elvis 🕺 and his fans are very loyal. It makes me happy to read people supporting him , a great American icon. He gave so much to people everywhere , all over the world. Long live the King

      • Ken Justak
        Ken Justak Nov 17, 2019 8:33 PM PST

        Elvis has been dead almost 50 years. Trying to start something about his past is a joke. We all know what he did. Nothing is a secret. What about all the money he gave to charities. Also, he gave alot of stuff away. He bought his workers many gifts including houses. You should bring that out. Some of his friends are still alive. If he was a person doing weird things , how come no one has brought this out in 43 years. If Lisa Marie is worried about her fathers reputation, she should be worried about her drug abuse. Also, Priscilla was messing around with Elvis when she was 14 or so. Her parents knew that. There was no secret. Elvis was 21 or so. He canr have a friend with someone younger? They didnt have sex. They were friends. There is a difference. Elvis was always around women. He dated some of the hotest women in movies and miss beauty contest winners. Now, people worried about his past . I think the movie should tell people the good things he did. How he built up Memphis and Tennessee. He put them on the map. Elvis was the man. No movie or metoo people will change that.

  • Rosie Lowe
    Rosie Lowe Nov 17, 2019 7:09 AM PST

    I had my crushes on adult men as a pre teen and teen but there is no way my parents would have allowed me to date one or live with one. Looking back I realize my crushes were just fantasies. I read Priscilla's book years ago and I am sorry but to this day i cannot understand why she was allowed to date Elvis much less move in with him. His fans can claim until the cows come home that he was lonely and all the numerous excuses they give for his behavior. What he did was wrong and what her parents allowed was beyond wrong. My dad was a military vet, served for 24 years and he would never in a million years let me date at age 14. Elvis lived his life on his terms and only his terms. Lisa is a big girl and has had more than her own messed up life choosing drugs, just like her father. Has she learned nothing? Sad to say but Elvis and Priscilla had no business having a child. he was certainly not father material and she was too young.

  • Sharonvadvad1977
    Sharonvadvad1977 Nov 17, 2019 6:19 PM PST

    I just want to say all of this Elvis is all cool I have loved him even when I was younger I love him even now that I am older love to see his daughter is getting out of a relationship that was not good moving on, love seeing his House's and would love to see more of his homes car's!!! Keep up the great work. Hope his daughter can show his house dressed up for the holidays.

  • Vicki
    Vicki Nov 17, 2019 3:32 PM PST

    I do feel sorry for Elvis if he's looking down now he would be destroyed by all the back stabbing. He would feel for lisa Marie and all she has had to put up with from her mother. While he was alive Priscilla played the sweet innocent role and has spent a fortune keeping her past and previous to Elvis past quiet cos he would never have married her had he found out I say people in glass houses shouldn't throw stones!! God Bless Elvis

  • Vicki
    Vicki Nov 17, 2019 3:12 PM PST

    Priscilla would be nothing if not for Elvis she has hung onto his shirt tales since he died as though still his wife but she had moved on until money signs appeared after his death I feel for lisa Marie. If anyone wants to moan about Priscilla's age at the start her parents have a lot to answer for. They also saw the dollar signs!!

  • David A Howard
    David A Howard Nov 17, 2019 2:16 PM PST

    Elvis Presley is the King of Rock n Roll. Times have changed since back then when Elvis was alive. Things were different and people got with each other regardless of age sometimes. Look at Lorreta Lynn and her husband. So leave Elvis and Priscilla alone. Elvis will always be the King.

  • Van Le
    Van Le Nov 17, 2019 9:35 AM PST

    If ELVIS was an overrated has been like bruce springsteen or an American hating socialist scumbag Democrat like weinstein, epstein or bill clinton the fake media like ABC or CNN would be covering up or building statues to the rapist and child molesters(allegedly)...

  • Donna
    Donna Nov 17, 2019 1:17 AM PST

    No I dont think Elvis should be considered in the #metoo movement as a tv documentary was made in the 80's and it showed Elvis and Pricilla's relationship from the start. They may have done somethings but she was never forced like what the BEAST Harvey Weinstein did too young ladies. My daughter is 19yrs old and she watched the movie Elvis and Me and she agrees that Elvis Presley should NOT be branded with the #MeToo campaign.

  • Von Lake
    Von Lake Nov 16, 2019 6:29 PM PST

    No. It was a different time then. People were more innocent. Though Elvis was in his early 20s, in reality he was not worldly. He was world famous and had not had the chance to mature due to the confines of his fame. Also, it was not unusual for a girl to want to marry in her teens back in the day. Priscilla herself says he did not want to go all the way with her until they married. She didn't even move to Memphis until she was at the end of her sr. year in high school and according to everyone, he was in Hollywood more than Memphis. If she has painted a different picture for this film, she will prove herself a liar and receive a great backlash. I only hope that Tom Hanks (a favorite actor of mine) does not contribute to a film that trashes Elvis. If he does, he faces a backlash as well. There are no fans like those of Elvis Presley and there are great numbers of them who will boycott, rant and rave.

    • Pauline
      Pauline Nov 17, 2019 1:07 AM PST

      Well said, Lisa need not worry the true fans will never. Disrespect her father as he did respect Priscilla and made promises to her parents when he brought her to USA, and I believe he was a honest person who kept his word, so I cannot see why the film should portray him any differently and if it has then it will not make the money it hopes,

  • Sherry Mendibles
    Sherry Mendibles Nov 16, 2019 3:15 PM PST

    No. I don't think the me-too movement should involve Elvis at all the man has been gone for 42 years why dredge up old old stuff now and besides I believe that he has too many followers that love him just for the person that he is/was.

  • Jean
    Jean Nov 16, 2019 11:53 AM PST

    PEOPLE are going to have opinions no matter who it is and the MEDIA only makes it worse cause people never know when to stop ELVIS was a great person daddy and husband we all have faults so what ever their trying to say get over it let him rest in peace and carry his legacy's on his fans love him for who and what they knew and saw when he was alive GOD BLESS U ELVIS PRESLEY 🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏🙏❤❤❤❤❤

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *